Porridge fingers


When Alice was approaching 6 months, I didn’t really have a strong opinion on how we would go about introducing solids. Some people are militant about baby led weaning, while others prefer to use purées. 

Like I say, I hadn’t given it much thought, but after trying to feed her porridge, and having her grab the spoon off me to feed herself, it would seem like Alice had chosen baby led weaning. 

So I was in search of things I could give Alice for breakfast that she could feed herself. That’s when I came across porridge fingers. 

They are so easy, and Alice can feed herself! Bonus, you can make a big batch and they will do for several days. 

Plus, they are pretty cheap to make. I got the porridge oats for (I think) 39p from Lidl!


What you need:

1 cup porridge oats

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup fruit purée (I used banana)

Some fresh fruit (I used 1 banana cut into chunks for these, you can alter the amount and type of fruit you use). 

Mix the oats with the purée and milk so that the oats soak up the liquid. Mix in the fruit. Put into a flat dish. (I used two plastic takeaway containers)

Microwave for approximately 4 minutes for each container. You need the mixture to have cooked thoroughly, otherwise they will disintegrate. 

Leave to cool for a couple of hours before cutting into bars!

I left some in the fridge and froze the rest in portions (3/4 sticks per portion). I haven’t used the frozen ones yet but when I do I’ll take them out and let them defrost in the fridge, although I imagine I would be able to defrost in the microwave in a pinch too. 

The best thing about these is that the flavour combinations are endless so hopefully Alice won’t get bored of them that quickly!

Leave a Reply

